Skip Navigation


Profile of Metro Atlanta

Call Us: (404) 880-9000


Metro Atlanta is the ninth largest and one of the fastest-growing metro areas in the nation. Home to 6 million people in 2019, metro Atlanta experienced the fourth-largest population increase of all MSAs in the nation—an increase of approximately 734,000 people from 2010 to 2019.

For the last five years, Atlanta has been among the top five metro areas in the nation for most net migration. From 2018 to 2019, metro Atlanta’s net migration was 43,584.

Population Snapshot

2019 Atlanta MSA (29 Counties)
Population 6,020,364
Median Age 36.6
% of Population - 25 years and over with a Bachelor’s degree or higher 39.4%
% of Population - Male/Female 48.4%/51.6%
% of Population - Race: White 52.8%
% of Population - Race: Black or African American 34.3%
% of Population - Race: Asian 6.1%
% of Population - Any Race: Hispanic or Latino 10.9%
% of Population - Foreign-Born 13.8%
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2019 Population Estimates, 2018 American Community Survey

Georgia Has Been Named the #1 State For Doing Business For The Last Six Years.

(Area Development, 2014-2019)


  • Atlanta is the capital city of Georgia. The Capitol Dome brightens Atlanta’s skyline and is layered in 43 ounces of pure gold mined in Dahlonega, Georgia, the site of America’s first “Gold Rush.”

  • The City of Atlanta is governed by a mayor and a 15-member city council that is managed by the council president.

  • The 29 counties that make up metro Atlanta are individually governed by boards of commissioners, city councils and mayors.

  • Atlanta’s symbol is the Phoenix, the legendary bird of Egyptian mythology, representing Atlanta’s rise from the ashes of the Civil War. The seal of the city bears the Phoenix and the Latin term, “Resurgens,” which means “rising again.”


  • Georgia’s corporate income tax rate is 5.75% (single factor sales tax apportionment). In the metro Atlanta region of 29 counties, the total (state and local) sales tax rate ranges from 6% (Cherokee, Cobb and Gwinnett counties) to 8.9% (City of Atlanta in Fulton and DeKalb counties).

  • Georgia’s individual income tax rate is a graduated tax based on an individual’s federal adjusted gross income. The tax rate ranges from one to 5.75% based on six income brackets.

  • Property tax rates (millage rates) are set locally by each county and city. Real and personal property are assessed at 40% of fair market value.

Cost of Living


Metro Atlanta provides access to an extensive healthcare system, including 45 hospital locations with approximately 11,500 total beds and more than 75,000 hospital workers.​

Cookie Settings