Skip Navigation

Public Policy

Public Policy News

Call Us: (404) 880-9000

May 25, 2017

Speaker Ralston Appoints Members of the House Commission on Transit Governance & Funding


Today Speaker David Ralston announced the members of the House Commission on Transit Governance & Funding. The Commission, created this past session by H.R. 848, is charged with studying Georgia's transit needs and the state's role in planning and execution. It will take a statewide look at transit governance and funding structures before it concludes at the end of 2018.

We commend the Speaker for his excellent appointments and are hopeful for positive, thoughtful, and lasting recommendations. The Commission will be chaired by House Transportation Chairman, Kevin Tanner, who worked to advance the issue the 2017 session. 

The appointed members are:

Six House Members:

  • Kevin Tanner (R-Dawsonville) – Chairman
  • Christian Coomer (R-Cartersville)
  • Mary Margaret Oliver (D-Decatur)
  • Jason Shaw (R-Lakeland)
  • Calvin Smyre (D-Columbus)
  • Tom Taylor (R-Dunwoody)

Four representatives of transit systems or counties which provide mass transit are:

  • Liz Hausmann – District 1 Commissioner, Fulton County Board of Commissioners
  • Curtis Kolber – CEO & Executive Director, Chatham Area Transit
  • Butch McDuffie – Director, Athens Transit System
  • Charlotte Nash – Chairman, Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners

Four residents of the State of Georgia are:

  • Brian Anderson, Sr. – President & CEO, Greater Columbus Chamber of Commerce
  • Rhonda Briggins – President, Georgia Transit Association
  • Butch Miller – State Senator (R-Gainesville)
  • Bob Ott – District 2 Commissioner, Cobb County Board of Commissioners

Ex-officio members of the Commission as provided by HR 848 are:

  • Russell McMurry – Commissioner, Georgia Department of Transportation
  • Keith Parker – CEO, MARTA
  • Chris Tomlinson – Executive Director, GRTA

And the directors of all metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs) are also ex-officio appointees to the Commission, however they will not have voting rights on the commission.

Read the full press release here.

Cookie Settings