Skip Navigation

Public Policy

Public Policy News

Call Us: (404) 880-9000

June 22, 2022

2022 Primary Runoff Election Recap

Georgia Sticker

Primary runoff elections were held Tuesday to decide the final party nominees ahead of the General Election in November. The races included Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Insurance and Fire Safety Commissioner, Commissioner of Labor, six Congressional District seats, and eleven General Assembly races. 

The numbers below reflect the election results as of June 22 at 11 AM. Detailed election results can be found here

General elections will be held on November 8. Check your voter registration status and polling place here.


For the Democratic nomination for Lieutenant Governor, Charlie Bailey secured the nomination over former Congressman Kwanza Hall with 63% of the vote. Bailey will face State Senator Burt Jones (R) in the General Election in November.

State Rep. Bee Nguyen won the Democratic nomination for Secretary of State over Dee Dawkins-Haigler with 77% of the vote. Nguyen will face incumbent Brad Raffensperger (R) in November.

For the Democratic nomination for Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner, Janice Laws Robinson defeated Raphael Baker with 63% of the vote. Janice Laws Robinson will face off in November against incumbent John King (R).

Commissioner of Labor Mark Butler (R) chose not to run for re-election, leaving the seat open. For the Democratic nomination, State Rep. William "Will" Boddie. Jr. became the nominee against Nicole Horn and will face opponent Bruce Thompson (R) in November.


In the 1st Congressional District, Wade Herring won the Democratic nomination against Joyce Marie Griggs. Wade Herring will face incumbent Congressman Buddy Carter (R) in November.

In a close race for the 2nd Congressional District, Chris West secured the Republican nomination over Jeremy Hunt. West will face off against incumbent Congressman Sanford Bishop (D) in November.

In the open 6th Congressional District race, Rich McCormick defeated Jake Evans with 66% of the vote for the Republican nomination. McCormick will face Bob Christian (D) in November.

In the race for the Republican nomination for the 7th Congressional District, Mark Gonsalves defeated Michael Corbin with 70% of the vote. Due to redistricting, newly drawn incumbent Lucy McBath (D) will face Mark Gonsalves in the November General Election.

In the 10th Congressional District, Mike Collins defeated former State Rep. Vernon Jones with 74% of the vote on the Republican side, and Tabitha Johson-Green defeated Jessica Allison-Fore with 64% of the vote on the Democratic side. Mike Collins (R) and Tabitha Johnson-Green (D) will face off in November.

All of Georgia's 14 congressional districts will be decided in the November General Election.


Many primary runoffs were held throughout the state for seats in the Georgia General Assembly. There were 11 runoffs altogether, and below are many of the notable results: 

In House District 24, Carter Barrett secured the Republican nomination over incumbent State Rep. Sheri Gilligan with 58% of the vote. In November, Carter Barrett (R) will face Democratic candidate Sydney Walker (D).

Due to redistricting, House District 28 is an open seat. Brent Cox won against Julie Tressler for the Republican nomination with 56% of the vote. Cox will face the Democratic nominee Claudia Wood in November. 

House District 30 is an open seat, and Derrick McCollum secured the Republican nomination over Whitney Pimentel. Derrick McCollum will face Democratic nominee Kim Floria in November. 

In House District 39, Terry Cummings defeated Monica Evette Delancy in an open seat for the Democratic nomination with 56% of the vote. Cummings will face Olivia Angel (R) in the November General Election.

In a close race, Narender Reddy became the Republican nominee for House District 50 over Betsy Kramer. Reddy will face State Senator Michelle Au (D) in November.

In House District 61, State Rep. Roger Bruce defeated Rashaun Kemp with 53% of the vote for the Democratic nomination. Incumbent Roger Bruce faces no Republican opposition in the general election and will be re-elected for his tenth term.

Due to the retirement of State Rep. Zulma Lopez, House District 86 is an open seat. Imani Barnes defeated Jacqueline Adams with 62% of the vote for the Democratic nomination. Imani Barnes will face Republican candidate Lisa Kinnemore in November.

Saira Draper secured the Democratic nomination over Michelle Schreiner for House District 90. Draper will face Jodi Diodati (R) in the November General Election.

In a close race in House District 117, Republican nominee Lauren Daniel won against Noelle Kahaian and will face off against the Democratic nominee Demetrius Rucker in November.

After serving three terms, State Rep. Don Hogan will be leaving the Georgia House of Representatives, which leaves House District 179 open. In a close defeat, Rick Townsend secured the open seat over Bob Duncan. There is no Democratic opposition in November. 

Mike Hodges won the Republican nomination for Senate District 3 against former State Rep. Jeff Jones. Mike Hodges will not face Democratic opposition in November.


The Metro Atlanta Chamber directly engaged in the primary election through two entities: MACPAC and the Georgia Coalition for Job Creation (GCJC).

MACPAC is a political action committee that supports pro-business candidates at the state level. MACPAC has supported 100 candidates during this election cycle.

Georgia Coalition for Job Creation (GCJC) is an independent expenditure committee co-managed by the Metro Atlanta Chamber and the Georgia Chamber of Commerce. GCJC engages in direct voter contact, and notably, GCJC engaged in the race for Senate District 3 on behalf of candidate Mike Hodges (R), who secured the Republican nomination with 67% of the vote. 


General Election

Monday, August 22       Earliest day to submit an absentee ballot application for the General Election

Tuesday, October 11     Last day to register to vote in the General Election

Monday, October 17      In-person early voting begins

Saturday, October 22    Mandatory Saturday early voting day

Sunday, October 23      Optional Sunday early voting day (check your county's voting schedule)

Friday, October 28         Last day to submit an absentee ballot application for the general election

Saturday, October 29     Saturday early voting day

Sunday, October 30       Optional Sunday early voting day (check your county's voting schedule)

Tuesday, November 8    Election Day



Cookie Settings