Skip Navigation

Public Policy

Public Policy News

Call Us: (404) 880-9000

December 1, 2021

2021 General Election Runoff Recap

Atl election 2

2021 General Election Runoff Recap

The General Election Runoff was held Tuesday, Nov. 30, in the races for Mayor of Atlanta, City Council President, six seats on the Atlanta City Council, two seats on the Atlanta Board of Education, and municipal elections around the metro Atlanta region.

In Atlanta, turnout was significantly lower (78,643 votes) than in the General Election (96,158 votes).

Mayor of Atlanta

Councilmember Andre Dickens defeated Council President Felicia Moore with 64% of the vote. Mayor-elect Dickens will be sworn in as the 61st Mayor of Atlanta on January 3, 2022.

City Council President

Doug Shipman defeated Councilmember Natalyn Archibong with 54% of the vote. 

Atlanta City Council

Six seats on the Atlanta City Council went to a runoff, including one citywide post. Eight of the 15 council seats will change representation in 2022. Below are the results of each election.

Post 3 At-Large: Keisha Sean Waites, a former state representative, won with 53%, and Jacki Labat finished with 47%. 

District 1: Jason Winston defeated Nathan Clubb with 52% of the vote.

District 3: Byron Amos won narrowly with 50.76% of the vote, defeating Erika Estrada. 

District 4: Jason Dozier defeated incumbent Cleta Winslow with 62% of the vote.

District 5: Liliana Bakhtiari defeated Mandy Mahoney with 68% of the vote.

District 12: Antonio Lewis defeated incumbent Joyce Sheperd with 59% of the vote.

Atlanta Board of Education

Two seats for the Atlanta Board of Education went into a runoff, including one citywide post. Below are the results of the runoff election

District 2: Incumbent Aretta Baldon narrowly defeated Keisha Carey with 50.59% of the vote. 

At-Large Seat 7: Tamara Jones defeated Kanesha Venning with 67% of the vote.

Notable Municipal Elections

Many municipalities around the metro Atlanta region held runoff elections. For local results, check individual local government websites. Below are the results of some notable mayoral elections:

Fairburn: Former Mayor Mario Avery defeated incumbent Mayor Elizabeth Carr-Hurst with 61% of the vote.

Peachtree City: Former Councilmember Kim Learnard narrowly defeated former Councilmember Eric Imker with 53% of the vote.

South Fulton: Councilmember Khalid Kamau defeated incumbent Mayor William Edwards with 59% of the vote. 


The Metro Atlanta Chamber directly engaged in the City of Atlanta general election through the work of the Committee for a Better Atlanta (CBA). CBA is a non-partisan coalition of 35 businesses and civic organizations that evaluates and scores candidates for Atlanta Mayor, City Council President, and Atlanta City Council based on their preparedness for office and their understanding of the important issues facing the City of Atlanta. 

With 83% of the qualified candidates participating in the CBA process, CBA evaluated written questionnaires and conducted in-person interviews for over 55 candidates.

CBA published its 2021 Voter Guide in September, including each candidate’s overall score, their complete questionnaire response, and the in-person interview questions asked of every candidate. Click here to view CBA’s Voter Guide.


Cookie Settings